The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings section of the local newspaper in Smithville. “The city council of Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes include hiring more police officers, budgeting more funds for police overtime, and directing officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that by increasing the visibility of the police force will lower the crime rate in the city and make people feel safer. Stated this way the author reveals several instances of poor reasoning which renders the argument suspect. The author provides several ways to increase the visibility of police but doesn't provide how these will reduce crime. Hence, The argument is rife with holes and is unsubstantiated

Firstly, the author readily assumes that by increasing the police force and patrolling by the walk will reduce crime. This is a mere assumption without any solid ground. For example, there is no evidence that such a method has been followed by the department in any other city and the crime rate has reduced. without any such proof, it not convincing that these methods are going to be fruitful.

Secondly, there is no information on the present crime rate in the city and are people feeling unsafe. If the crime rate is already low and people do feel safe, there is no need to do any changes to the present system. Also if the people are unsafe, what are the problems people are facing? and by making these changes how are those problems will be resolved?. The argument would have been justified if the author has provided evidence that the city has seen an increase in the crime rate in recent times and people are feeling unsafe.

Finally, scrutiny of the argument raises several questions, such as Is the strength of the police department low? Will all the funds directed to the department will be used for visibility purposes only? we do not if that's the case. The information that the police force is less or the unemployment is more in the city and the city council has not granted sufficient funds in the past, would be beneficial to support the claim. Unless these questions are answered, the intended audience of the article will be left skeptical of the claim.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster further, more concrete evidence of the success of these improvements in the other cities and information of the present crime rate of the city is needed. Unless these assumptions are addressed the argument can be considered as more of wishful thinking rather than substantial evidence.