The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings section of the local newspaper in Smithville. “The city council of Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes include hiring more police officers, budgeting more funds for police overtime, and directing officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether there commendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The council concludes that in order to reduce the crime rate in Smithville, changes should be made to the police procedure in order to improve the visibility of the police force. While this argument may seem logical at first glance, the council rely on unsupported assumptions that are fundamentally flawed and unconvincing. There are questions that remain unanswered; Is there any direct relationship between the police and the crime rate? Is the police truly lacking enough funds?

First, the council assume that the low visibility of the police is the reason for the crime rate in Smithville. The crime rate might be that high for a number of reasons. Suppose for example, the crime rate is as a result of high unemployment rate and this has resulted into residents stealing and harming one another. Definitely, changing the police procedure would have no effect on this as the main issue will still be left unattended to. Furthermore, has this method proved effective for another city which had this exact problem and was provided the same solution? There’s no proof that changing the police procedures would be able to tackle the issue at hand.

Also, it was assumed that recruiting more police officers into the force would reduce the crime mate. The council has not established any direct link between the number of current police officers and how it affects the crime rate. The council provides no evidence on how the police officers they have do not have effect on the crime rate. Suppose the city is too big or the population of the people has really increased hence the need for more police officers, that would have made the argument valid. But the author did not establish any connection between the population and the people. Furthermore, the issue of this crime rate could be as a result of some deficiencies on the part of the police force which is not even gaining attention. It could be as a result of insufficient arms, gadgets and equipment provided, or even the leadership. Definitely if more police officers are employed then the main issue would still remain unresolved.

Additionally, the council assumes that budgeting more funds for the police would also help in addressing this crime issue. There is no information on how the previous funds have been spent. In a situation where the previous funds have been repeatedly embezzled by the officials, then, there is no assurance that the additional funds won’t be mismanaged.

The writer needs to establish a direct connection between the crime rate and the police force; and how these improvements suggested are very relevant to the issue at hand. The argument is deeply flawed and a number of questions which are very crucial to this argument are still unanswered.