The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the article states that government should focus on educating people on bicycle safety and less encourage bicycle riders to wear helmets. He arrives at this conclusion based on the correlation between the increase in the percentage of riders using helmets and the number of bicycle accidents over the past ten years. However, the argument is rife with holes and unstated assumptions. Thus, it fails to stand as a convincing argument on its own. Three unstated assumptions make this argument weak.

First, the author makes the assumption that changes in percentages will actually reflect the trend over the past ten years. For instance, the author points out the increase in helmet usage using the percentage values from 35% to 80%. There is no information about the number of bicycle riders today and ten years ago. Ten years ago, there might be more bicycle riders, and it could have been decreased over time with the arrival of motor vehicles. Ten years ago, there might be hundred bicycle riders, and only thirty-five were wearing helmets, but today there might be only ten riders, and eight of them are wearing helmets. This need not be interpreted as an increase in helmet usage. Similar for the number of accidents as well. Taking percentage values for comparing the trend without the absolute values makes this argument weak.

Second, the author tragically assumes that wearing helmets is a reason for bicycle accidents. He fails to provide evidence to show that wearing helmets is actually risking the bicyclists instead of protecting them. Among the accident cases, more serious injuries could have occurred to those who didn't wear the helmets. The bicyclist who wore helmets might have escaped with minor injuries. The author fails to show how wearing helmets puts the life of bicyclists in peril. Thus, if his assumption proved unwarranted, his proposal to less encourage bicyclists to wear helmets does not hold water.

Third, the author assumes that wearing helmets is the only reason for the bicycle accidents and correlate the available statistics. There could be several other reasons for the increase in bicycle accidents. An increase in the number of motor vehicles, which lead to the intensification of traffic over the past ten years, could have significantly contributed to the increase in the number of bicycle accidents. The road conditions and inclement weather conditions also could have contributed to the number of accidents. The author fails to address other possible factors in his argument. Thus, constructing the argument on top of this weak assumption makes the entire argument questionable.

In a nutshell, the argument of the author is highly contingent upon several unstated assumptions. Elaborating the argument with enough evidence to bolster author’s assumptions will produce a more convincing argument.