Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is not just the knowledge, and the grades scored in examinations; it incorporates what we learn, understands, and practice. The students should be motivated to study the appropriate subjects and morals. Indeed, schools and colleges are playing a salient role in motivating and educating students. However, schools and colleges alone cannot motivate all students to learn. Parents, colleagues, and society should also contribute to encouraging students to study. Furthermore, the schools and colleges, which have a large crowd of students, cannot focus on the individual needs of each student to support their learning process. Thus, I agree that students cannot be motivated to learn by school or college alone.

To begin, the first teacher of an individual is his parents. They play a pivotal role in introducing this world to a newborn child. Then he gradually starts to interact with the environment with the guidance of his parents. After a certain age, society and the people around him assume the role of teachers. During these stages, a child learns basic disciplines, understanding the environment, talking, and interacting with other people. Furthermore, the child gradually understands the physical nature of the body, such as getting hungry, expressing different feelings, and walking. During this learning phase, the children should be motivated so as to learn these aspects actively. If the child does not receive enough response from the society, child's learning might be affected. For instance, when a child starts to walk correctly, his parents may cheer and encourage him. Otherwise, the child may not attempt to walk. Thus, it is clear that motivation is a key factor required to bolster the learning process.

When children enter schools, they meet with their peers and teachers. Colleagues and teachers play a pivotal role in molding a child. Teachers teach the subjects, morals, and discipline to every student equally. They adopt different mechanisms to foster the learning process. For instance, they might appreciate good practices and students performing well in front of the class, inspiring and motivating all other students to follow those paths. Perhaps, they might punish the students who engage in unacceptable things in the classroom to make everyone understand they are wrong. Such practices would motivate the students to learn to practice good practices and to avoid malpractices. Furthermore, with age, students need more guidance. When they grow, they are exposed to many good and bad things in society, and they need appropriate guidance to distinguish them. Teachers and people in the society should encourage the student to adapt only to the good things.

However, every student cannot be treated equally to facilitate their learning. Every individual is unique and requires a different level of treatment to understand what is being taught to them. The schools and colleges cannot manage to care for the students individually. Thus, they need individual support from others. For instance, some students do not understand the outcomes of following bad habits at first. They should be advised continuously to stop their malpractices and adopt good practices. Such kind of individual caretaking might not be possible in schools and colleges. Their colleagues, parents or society could carry them out. Thus, schools and colleges cannot take the responsibility of motivating students alone.

In a nutshell, even though the college and school play a significant role in molding the characteristics and discipline of individuals, several other components of the society with which a student interact also have the responsibility to shape them.