The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the editorial from the local newspaper, it is stated that the proponents of the motorists’ lobby idea to add one extra bike lane have advocated an alternative that makes an extra bicycle lane to the Blue Highway. Evidence that has made them propose this solution is the same problem in the Green highway that resulted in worsening of traffic and local residents’ tendency to utilize bicycles to commute to work. However, before one can evaluate the evidence, three questions need to be answered properly.

First of all, are the Blue Highways and the Green Highway roughly the same? In other words, are any differences in these two highways make us propose the same generalizations? For example, it is possible that the size of the highway in green one is smaller than the blue highway. Besides, the green highway is probably adjacent to the urban areas, whereas the blue highway is located in a rural surrounding. If either of these cases is true, that will weaken the proposed solution.

Secondly, are all of the “commute to work” locations within the bicycle distance that motivate the residents to use bicycles instead of cars on the highway? For example, if their commute locations are more than 50 miles from their homes, maybe they would not be persuaded to bicycle to get to their work. Perhaps, if driving their cars on the highway is their only option to get their work every day, especially if they live far away from the places they work. So, considering each case to be valid, the solution to the problem will not hold water.

Third, are adding the bicycle lane to the blue highway does not increase the accident rate in the blue Highway? Certainly, drivers tend to drive at a very high speed, and it is possible to consider that this would jeopardize the safety of people on the bicycle lane. Moreover, maybe it leads to an accident on the highway and generates huge traffic jams on this particular highway. Thus, it is inevitable to consider at least one argument mentioned above, and if we do so, it will cast doubt on the validity of the solution they are going to implement.

In conclusion, all this considered, this proposal, in its current version, possesses some flaws owing to its reliance on several unwarranted pieces of evidence. If the author of this proposal answers these questions and provides more sound conclusions based on the actual condition of the case, it is possible to thoroughly investigate the validity of the solution it this specific problem.