As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The advent of technology has undoubtedly revolutionized our lifestyle. After the landmark era of the late 17th century, people have become persuaded that their conventional lives are not the perfect ones. Also, owing to human’s tendency to improve their lives, they come up with an era that is called the industrial revolution. We have seen numerous inventions in every aspect of our daily lives. Take the railroad and the trains into account. Certainly, this has had a positive impact on the countries economy. We used those inventions to sell our product to remote destinations. The prompt, on the other hand, tries to convey the idea that technology has adversely impacted individuals and deteriorated our health in many aspects. While this argument seems to persuade others into possessing a second thought about the technology, I believe that the advantages of the technology we utilize outweigh the liabilities associated with each technology, and we should take advantage of their pros and avoid the disadvantages. I feel this way because of three reasons that I will profoundly explain in the following paragraphs.

For one thing, I do believe that technology, since its emergence, has helped human beings to improve their lifestyles. As it is pinned in our inherent souls, we try to come up with ideas that provide us an easy life. For instance, in the 15th century, we used horses and other wildlife animals as means of transportation. They were used if an army wanted to be moved from ancient Rome to civilized Greece. Since it took a lot of time to move from one place to another, they come up with different inventions to move faster. Three centuries later, they invented the first steam car, which traveled faster than the horse and buggies. Therefore, it is unfair to judge all technologies negatively.

Secondly, a large number of technologies have enhanced our medical equipment. For example, since the late 90th, scientists have invented numerous surgical robots to do surgical operations in places where access to advanced medical treatment is unfortunate. So, this particular technology has aided people in restoring their health. Also, the invention of vaccines evidently helped us to survive some systemic illnesses in the past. For instance, vaccines were used as a lifesaver to treat smallpox and yellow fever in the last century.

On the other hand, I cannot condemn this argumentation that some technologies have distracted us from living normally. Nowadays, we believe that it is impossible to live without social media. Youngsters think that this is the only invention that will help them achieve their true goals. Whilst it may be a logical argument, it has worked negatively in most societies. For example, the number of students who abandon their assignments to be just on social media has increased noticeably. This makes sense because the time we spend on media is more interesting than doing boring homework. That is why I am partly in favor of the idea of some technologies that are not as useful as they seem to be.

In conclusion, we should consider both the positive and negative sides of each technology before making any false judgments. It is imperative to use those technologies that have certain benefits for our lives. In doing so, I believe that technologies have not seriously harmed us.