Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Having a goal in our human life is a crucial element. It is in our nature to have some goals to achieve the life we had dreamt about since our childhood. Nowadays, especially after the advent of the industrial revolution, people owing to their nature of seeking fame, try to adopt some behaviors and goals which can be categorized into long-term and short-term goals. The statement attempts to convey the idea that youngsters should be motivated to pursue long-term goals rather than following an achievement intended for momentary fame and recognition. I can’t entirely agree with this idea since I do believe that both short-term and long-term goals can be beneficial to every individual. I feel this way because of two reasons which I will investigate in the following paragraphs.

For one thing, we, human beings, could devote most of our time to achieving our long-term goals since it will undoubtedly direct us to a successful life. In other words, we should abandon those activities we deem useless in exchange for a better life. People, throughout history, have concluded that if they want their life to be as the way they had dreamt, they should let go of their hobbies and things they like and, in return, be provided with something they have in their minds. For instance, Elon Musk, the richest man in the world, once said that “when my friends and roommates were obsessed with going to the best parties and gatherings, I focused on my goals by improving my skills in the field of economics, engineering, and psychology. If it weren’t for him to let go of those momentary things, he wouldn’t have been the richest man in the globe. Therefore, children should pay attention to the goals that would provide us long-term happiness and success.

Secondly, although it is imperative to think about our future and our big ambitions, that doesn’t mean that we should ignore everything that makes us happy and successful during our present time. In other words, we could consider doing things that help us to be motivated and brought us fame even for a short time. I think these short-term goals can positively affect us in our lives. For instance, there are numerous days where we are not motivated as we were in the past. Human beings can develop new skills or throw themselves into getting things done to be famous for a short time. This fame will definitely encourage people to continue their success plans and achieve their long-term goals. For example, Bill gates, the father of digital technologies, started his business in late 1980, and he galvanized himself throughout this hardworking by attending into a golf club. He then was awarded the golf champion prize. He mentioned that that trophy he got that day helped him to concentrate on the big ambitious goals he had abandoned about a year ago. This is not only had any conflict with the long-term goals, but it boosted his confidence and helped him get back at his valuable plans. Hence, it is inevitable to get your dreamy life without pushing yourself into transitory fame.

In conclusion, it is logical to both pursue goals that bring us happiness in the short and long run. While it is crucial for us to seek goals that are long-time oriented, we should not underestimate what impacts those short-term goals can introduce to our lives.