Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In order to become a sound citizen, people should learn various knowledge through education. However, some people suffer from poverty, and thus, it is argued that governments should offer free college and university education to all citizens. Although there are some circumstances where free education is beneficial, I adamantly believe that free education is pernicious in most circumstances.

Admittedly, in the circumstances of providing rudimentary education, free education is beneficial. This is because the benefit from having all people well-educated of some basic knoweldge, such as social consensus on law, outweighs the cost. To elaborate, it should be noted that the crime rate is closely related to the degree of basic education among people. This is not only supported by a myriad of research that reports the positive correlation between education level and crime rate but also revealed by the prerequisite for military enrollment, where people did not go through the elementary education is not allowed to be enrolled. In this respect, providing basic education can result in the diminution of crime rate. Considering that social cost required to prevent crime and rehabilitate criminals, the benefit certainly overrides the cost. Thus, providing elementary eduaction free to all citizens is desirable.

However, in the cases of providing high-level education, such as university education or other types of private education, the cost exponentially increases due to the increased expense of hiring teachers or professors who meet the demand. In addition, the benefit of education also plummets compared to the aformentioned case, since the benefit from preventing crime no longer exists. For example, the university education is inarguably conducive to becoming a civil citizen, but it is not a prerequiste; there is no significant correlation between university education and crime rate. On the contrary, the cost of university education become higher since they, for instance, include the higher salary -generally over 100,000 dollars- of professors with outstanding academic records and the expenses to foster those professors to continue their research. In this regard, providing free education is inadvisable since the cost overrides the benefit.

Moreover, it should be noted that the proportion of university education and private education is way larger than rudimentary education. This is because university education includes all types of education provided by universities and local college and private education encompasses all types of education except rudimentary and university education. As mentioned above, these types of education is crucial for an individual's happiness, but it does not give such a large benefit that overrides the cost to provide the education free. Therefore, in most cases, providing free education is not desirable.

In brief, providing free education is not desirable except for the case of elementary education, for the cost is way higher than the benefit. Therefore, the government should not lavishly disburse their budget to providing all types of education free of charge.