Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, grades are often deemed anachronistic measure to gauge the student's ability. In this light, it is often argued that at all levels of education, simply enforcing students to blindly compete for high grades greatly mars the overall quality of learning. However, although there are indeed some cases where the competition for the good grades deteriorates the learning quality, I adamantly believe that it cannot be generalized to all fields and levels of education.

To begin with, there are indeed some instances where the competition for high grades seriously vitiates the pedagogical quality. In those cases, it is because the exams are not meticulously designed to assess the degree of understanding but rather simply designed to give high scores to those who blindly memorize all the textbook information. The epitomical example shall be Suneung, the college entrance exam of South Korea. As notorious it is, the majority of South Korean students strive to get a higher score in Suneung, in order to get matriculated in some prestigious universities. Meanwhile, since high scores in Suneung can be most efficiencly achieved by memorizing the textbook information, South Korean students in general toil to simply memorize the concepts of their textbooks. Therefore, although South Korean studens are famous for their lucubrating traits, many of the students give up their dreams and pursue lucrative careers due to the wearisome competition.

However, when an exam is carefully designed to assess how well students are understanding and gives grades in accordance with that assessment, the competition can increase the quality of education. This is because the main purpose of the pedagogy is to let students understand the core logic of the subject. For example, in case of dealing with Intermational Math Olympiad (IMO), there is a strong correlation between the academic success and the grades of the competitors. There are many prominent scholars, such as Terrence Tao, who won the medals in IMO and exhibit outstanding academic performances. They point out that their competition for winning a medal in IMO played a pivotal role in their decision to pursue the academic career and also in their academic success by fostering themselves to understand the fundamenal aspects of mathematics. As this compelling example reveals, carefully designed exam can actually increase the quality of learning by making students understand more thoroughly.

In brief, although there are cases where the competition for high grades deteriorates the educational quality, the competition with the cleverly designed exam can aggrandize the quality of learning. Therefore, in order to bolster their educational quality, teachers should first try to ameliorate their exams rather than seeking other experimental yet unqualified pedagogical methodologies.