The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given letter, the faculty committee recommends that the Seatown Univeristy must institute a free-tuition policy for the faculty's children, to enhance morale among faculty and attract new professors. The committee has arrived on this conclusion based on the premise of a study conducted at Oceania University which asserts higher faculty retention through such a policy. The conclusion drawn by the committee might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Before we could determine to accept or reject the given recommendations, the following peices of evidence must be assessed.

First, the committee cites the study of Oceania Universiry. Is the study conducted scientifically? What was the sample size? When was it conducted? What methodoly was induced to conduct the study?However, the scope and validity of the study is unclear. It is probable that the sample of the study maynot have been the representative of the whole faculty of the University. It is highly likely that the study would have been conducted a while ago. For instance, what could the trend of faculty in 1990s cannot be attributed to the faculty of 2020. Also, the wording of the study is vague and ambiguous. The author fails to provide data regarding the supposedly 'higher' faculty retention at the University. Unless the data is furnish, the scope and reliability of the study cannot be verified. If either of the above has merit, then the argument is weakened.

Furthermore, are the Seatown University and Oceania University comparable? The author assumes that they are rougly comparable and what attributes to one, also applies to another one. However, this might not be the case. It is possible these univerisities are disparetly different and cannot be construed as same. The author need to provide whether the demographics of both universities. Is financial status of both the same? Is reputation and ranking of both comparable. It is higly likely that both the universities digress regarding funding. Perhaps, Oceania recieves tremendous funding from the industry and thus afford such a policy. Whereas Seatown caters limited funding. If the above is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, Are there other factors which could invigorate higher faculty retentions? It is possible to inculcate a plethora of other ways to enhance morale of faculty and lure new professors. Perhaps, surprise increments and bonus might increase the morale of the faculty. Other way might include awards and regonitions, ecursions trips for team bonding etc.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The committeefails to furnish the pieces of evidences stated above to bolster their claim. Also, they fail to develop an efficient anology between free-tuition policy and faculty retention. If the committee may provide the evidences stated above and perhaps, conduct a scientific study regarding factors pertaining to faculty retentions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the given argument.