"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given memo, the advertising director concludes and recommends that the Super Screen Movie Production Company must augment the budget allocated for advertising. The director concludes this based on the premise that the positive reviews of the movies are not reaching their proespective viewers inturn purging the attendance for the movies. However, the conclusion drawn by the director may hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the reccomendation. Therefore, before we could evaluate the agument, the following questions must be addressed.

First, Is the lack of awareness of positive reviews among the prospective viewers the only reason for fewer people attending movies? There can be a plethora of factors which discourage people from attending movies produced by Super-Screen Co. It is possible that there might be a new player in the movie production market attracting more people towards them and perhaps delivering a blockbuster movie. It is highly likely that people would attend any other movie than a proven hit, thanks to the widespread attention it recieves from mass communication mediums. Perhaps, the poeple are unhappy about the contents of the movies produced during the recent years. It is highly likely that certain shift in content delivery has not be well digested by the viewers leading to purge in attendance. If either of the above holds merit then the argument does not hold water.

Furthermore, the director cites that the percentage of positive reviews have actually increased during the past year. How much is the actual percentage of postive reviews? How much was percentage of positive reviews the preceading year? As the percentage increase is a dependent measure, we cannot estime the actual positive reviews unless we are provided with the reviews data. Perhaps the total positive reviews were already very low last year and therefore an increase makes no viable difference. Also, are the reviews authentic and well-accepted? Many times people are recultent to believe on reviews provided by private entities as they can be easily manipulated for economical gains. If the reviews were of the aforemention type then it is highly likely that people have developed an inherent recalcitrence towards movies by this company. If the above is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is weakened.

Finally, Is the current form of advertising the most effieicnt available in the market? It is highly likely that the current advertising firm is not reaching its intended amount of people and lacks in efficacy. So increasing the budget will not

In sum, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The director fails to furnish the substantial data to back his claim. Also, the director develops an inefficient analogy between the people attending the movies and positive reviews. If the director is able to address the aforementioned questions and perhaps render the reports, then it will be possible to completely evaluate the viability of the reccomendation to augment the advertising budget.