Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many people might think that for a leader, respecting friends and companions is more significant than making an ethical judgment. It is true that peers are a important element in any peson's life. However, I believe making moral judgment is a foremost characteristic for any person, specially leaders. Nobody should prioritize friends over fairness.

Firstly, effective leaders are those persons who navigate others toward a certain direction, even sometimes in a wrong direction. As a result, having a characteristics of making moral judgement is the most important for a leader to make a fair decision and show people the right path. If the leaders compromise ethical judgement to ensure the respect of their peers, then justice might be denied. Moreover, the leader who takes such unfair customs, will be accused of neputism which is not beneficial both for the leader and the people who follow the leader.

Secondly, as people follow the leaders in our society, it is important for the leaders to be just to maintain law and order in a nation. If the leaders start to overlook laws and regulations for their peers, other person finds it unfair and lose repect in abiding by the laws. Additionally, people lose respect towards the leader who is unfair and put less emphasis in following him.

Furthermore, peers are human beings and no person is perfect, people make mistakes. Sometimes people do not understand their mistakes or they are commiting a crime. If leaders do not identify their peers' mistake in order to preserve their respect, then they might not understand that they are wrong. As a result, they would put no effort on improving themselves and they would unknowingly repeat same mistakes again and again.

In conclusion, even if the peers are important in life and people should not hurt their respect, however, importance of moral judgement outweights the respect of the peers in this case.