The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap."

In this argument, the director of a large group of hospitals asserts the use of UltraClean hand soap in various hospitals in order to reduce the risk of serious infection. But, to justify these claims, the argument lies on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, the author talks about the concentrated solution of UltraClean hand soap producing a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful germs than the currently used hand soaps in the hospitals. In my opinion, the author's argument is flawed in this case as it does not provide any pieces of evidence of such results. Had the author attached a copy of results showing the effectiveness of this hand soap it would have supported the claims. Also, as the author is talking about a concentrated solution, the costs of procuring might also increase which might not be feasible for many hospitals.

Furthermore, the author's claim of fewer cases of patient infection in Worktown, due to the use of Ultraclean is pretty absurd. The author claims of a 20 percent reduction in infection rate but he does not provide the figures of how many people the handsoap was tested upon. In other words, there are two cases, 20 cases of infection out of 1000 patients and 10 cases out of 100. Although the absolute number decreases, there is no doubt that the first case is more favorable.

Finally, the author affirms that the 20 percent reduction is due to the use of UltraClean soap. The author's argument is only based on unproven assumptions and lacks veracity. It might be possible that most of the patients in a hospital were suffering from the same disease and a vaccine for the disease had been found lately. This might have led to the curing of most patients in the hospital. Had the author given instances like a survey of doctors acclaiming UltaClean hand soap for reducing the infections, it might have bolstered the claims.

Therefore, in conclusion the author's claims are filled with flaws and incomplete, lacking evidences. Had the author kept the above suggestions in mind, it might have given the claims some mettle. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.