The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

The new vice president of a manufacturer company recommanded that if they restart their famous alpaca overcoat, then their profit will soar up more than ever. In his support, he asserted about finding a new supplier of raw materials, and the demand from their customers. However, the argument is rife with fallacies that leads to a illogical conclusion.

At first, we have to give enough emphasis about the time line. The alpaca overcoat was popular five years ago that is a huge amount of time. In five years, a whole lot can change. The customers of alpaca coats may have been economically well-off five years ago, whereas , there may have been an economic depression in recent time, leading to a dearth of need for alpaca coats. Additionally, Alpaca overcoats may have been used more in winter dire conditions. Perhaps, the weather of that specific area of Alapaca Overcoat's customer has changed over the course of time. Ergo, there is even a possibility of no need of such commodity. There has to support or evidence about the socio-economic, meteorilogical whereabouts of that area, and customers still having the same sense of fashion. The trend of fashion may change drastically over short span of time, whereas five years is huge gap. If any of these are true, the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the demand of the customers are on the rise. This alpaca overcoat was popular back in the days, but the customers are still waiting for it for five years, is a bit too optimistic. Over the span of five years, its normal for the customers to switch to another company's overcoats. An empirical study of the customers is needed to support this claim. The competitors back then, may have been not as good as the Sartorian company. Nonetheless, there is no evidence behind the claim that they are still producing below average products. The other companies may even have surpassed the so called "top notch" alpaca overcoats of the Sartorian company. The vice president's logic was supercilious about their own products, without any study behind the competency of the other companies.

Additionally, the Sartorian company is expecting a bigger profit margin. This is backed up in the prompt by saying the customer demand and overall increase in clothing price. Then, it should be evident that if there is inflation of prices of clothes, then the price of raw supplies will also rise. Even if, the Sartorian company sell the new overcoats at a higher price than five years ago, there is has to be other investigation about the necessary expenditures; Such as, labor cost, maybe a new design for alpaca coats as the other design is outdated. These costs has to be added to their cost margins before citing this idea will be more profitable than before. There has to new advertisements of the company, as they were out of the alapaca overcoats game for such a long time. These needs to be considered inorder to have a better idea of the profit margin.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, has numerous unwarranted assumptions, which are needed to be addressed .