The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

The argument states about the cheese store, which reaches a conclusion regarding the how they will be only storing domestic cheese in their stores on some unwarranted assumptions. In a deep analysis we can see how flawed assumptions have taken into toll the conclusion of this cheese store.

The survey which is taken into consideration as the prime reason to shift to domestic cheese, is not satisfactory. As given in the argument that the survey is done only amongst its subscribers. So, it highly possible that many people around the world are not subscribers of Cheese of the world magazine . So, the people who are subscribers of this survey have a liking for domestic cheese is more. There may be many other places in the world where people like imported cheese more compared to domestic one. It could also be the case that the people or chains of cheese stores or restaurants taken into consideration where those who preferred domestic cheese. A For instance, if this survey is done from a restaurant whose customers prefer domestic cheese made dishes compared to imported and exotic varieties of cheese like blue cheese. So, the cheese factory in the argument maybe is in an area where people as individuals prefer domestic cheese, but as the cheese store is considering a survey from the Cheese of the world this might have a negative impact in their business.

Another point suggested in the argument tells us that the cheese store has been stacking both imported and domestic cheese from many years, but recently the five best selling cheeses at new domestic store where domestic cheddar cheese is being stacked. So, now it boils down to the question Where is this new store located? As the location of this new store is not disclosed in the argument. Hence it might be case that the new store maybe in area where people prefer domestic cheese compared to imported cheese. So, they are stacking the new store with domestic cheese. But this does not conclude that the same idea will work with their other stores, as they might be in a different place where exotic or imported cheese is preferred.

In addition to this another striking point is the argument tells us that the 5 best domestic cheese which they are keeping in the store are cheddar cheese is from Wisconsin. As already discussed, that the new stored location is not disclosed, so it might be case that the store is somewhere else apart from Wisconsin. They totally negate the fact given the cheese store where cheddar cheese is domestic. if location of store is other than Wisconsin, maybe in some different country. Then this cheese which they are getting is imported and not domestic. It maybe domestic for Wisconsin but not for the area where the store is present. In fact, if we consider the other way around that the location of store and Wisconsin is in same country. Then it could also be the case that the cheese is first imported by Wisconsin and then supplied to the location of this cheese store. Hence this may not be domestic as the argument suggests.

Therefore, many flawed assumptions have been considered in the argument. By deep analysis we can say that, there is an equal or more probability that the case is totally different as stated in the argument. This can be seen by the above discussed flaws in the argument and the unwarranted assumptions considered