It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

The statement suggests that it is more deleterious to compromise your own beliefs compared to adhering to them. Fundamentally I agree with the statement that one must majorly try to stick to their own beliefs. Because adhering to some principles or beliefs of your own, gives the person a boosted confidence and a sense of tackling any real time issue. Plethora of positive impacts are present when you stick to your beliefs.

In this complex world, there are plenty of options to achieve one's goals. So, if a person is able to follow his/ her own beliefs and achieve what they want. Then that it is considered to be true success. For example, a person wants to become a scientist and perform extensive research work. So, to be able to achieve the dream of being a scientist, there are many obstacles in path and plenty of challenges on must face. Initially that person may have a particular thinking on how to become a scientist and he/she tries to kickstart their career through small research. But as earlier mentioned, maybe due to some obstacles and challenges, the idea for the starting research work does not qualify the needs to be published in paper or to become one of the path breaking findings. In addition to this maybe that person's colleagues undermine that person's work. But that person must not give up his idea, thinking it is vague but instead must start believing that the idea is not wrong or useless maybe the approach is slightly deviated and must continuously work on it to gain conclusive results.

When one starts believing in themselves then they are ready for any unknown challenge too. Though there might be certain aspects of an individual's beliefs which are diverging with the view of others. One must not think that as his/her beliefs are not in accordance with some other persons then he/she is wrong about that. Because when one starts to compromise their own beliefs because most other people have a diverging thinking, then that person starts to lose confidence. When this happens, suddenly, a person who started their career or is inches away from path breaking finding etc. loses his/her zealous nature. Then they always agree with the others, even though they might be wrong. It hinders their capability to think and ends up most probably agreeing with others without thinking about the other views possible for the situation.

Though it is true that sometimes when a person is doctrinaire about some beliefs which might not be efficient or useful, can prove to harmful to the person. For example, consider an artist who has a thought process that his same process of painting can earn laurels , and dogmatically believe that there art is supreme to others Here the artist is sticking to his/her own belief which might be working for them for some time. But if some other artist comes up with other smart technique to paintings then it might be the case that the dogmatic artist will lose credibility. The point is, believe in yourself and your ideas because in actual world they lead you to success, but in some cases don't be deliberately stubborn , even when you yourself know the idea is not going to work.

Hence, from the above explanations is quite clear that compromising your own beliefs is more harmful than adhere to your beliefs. Therefore, I agree with the statement. This statement must be followed in order to gain proper confidence for any person irrespective of their work or culture.