The following appeared in a memo from the president of a company that builds and sells new

homes in Steel City.

"Over the past five years, the population of Steel City has increased by more than 20 percent,

and family incomes in Steel City have risen much faster than the national average. Nationwide,

sales of houses priced above $150,000 have increased more than have sales of lower-priced

houses. Such data indicate that we should make changes in our business to increase

company profits. First, we should build fewer low-priced houses than we did last year and

focus instead on building houses designed to sell at above $150,000. Second, we should hire

additional workers so that we can build a larger total number of houses than we did last year."

The memo from the president of a company that builds and sells new homes in Steel City concludes that, in order to make profit, they should build fewer low-priced houses than they did in the previous year. The memo adds the conclusion my stating that they should hire additional workers so that they can build a larger total number of houses than they did last year. To justify this conclusion the argument states that, the population of the city has increased by more than 20 percent, further the national average have risen much faster than national average. However, there are a lot of unexplored variables which should be taken into consideration.

Firstly, the data provided states that there is a growth in the population of Steel City and also states that the family income have risen much faster than the national average. The point here is, family income has risen as compared to the national average but that does not mean that the family income is higher than the national average income. In this case, if the family income is not as much as the national average than it might adversely affect the conclusion because of the fact that there is a rise in population in the city and the family income is not that well.

Secondly, the memo states that the sales of high priced houses have increased other than the lower prices houses, That does not mean that the same thing applies to Stee City. There is a possibility that Steel City has more sales of lower priced than the higher ones.The president has made an assumption that what is implied to the nation will imply to the city as well, but that can or cannot be the case. Even if, such data applies to Steel City, also than there is no evidence than the company is making more profits building the higher priced houses. By selling the higher marked houses the revenue of the company increase but nothing can be stated about the profit.

Finally, the president is planning to make changes in the business plan by lower the production of lower prices houses and increasing the higher priced houses without mentioning any evidence regarding the profit margins. The memo also states to hire additional workers in order to make more number of higher priced houses. Apart from this, te data provided is of the last 5 years and therefore, there is an unstated assumption that what implied to previous 5 years will continue in the years to come where there is possibility that the same data may not be fit for the coming years.

Therefore, the argument is unpersuasive. To bolster this, the president must provide proper evalution of the data before making changes in the business plan by hiring additional workers which can affect the company in a negative way.