The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing During the past year Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on the job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours Exper

In this memo, the author believes that the higher rate of on-the-job accidents at Alta Manufacturing are correlated to long work hours and sleep deprivation of workers. While the reason stated by the author may be a contributor to said accidents, we have to question whether or not the author's recommendations are viable, and we also need to discuss some critical issues, as the answers to these questions may be beneficial to the author's final decision.

To begin with, it is unclear whether the higher rate of on-the-job accidents at Alta Manufacturing was caused by lack of sleep. The vice president assumes that inadequate sleep leads to on-the-job accidents, and enough amount of sleep causes accidents at work. However, perhaps such accidents were a result of the work at Alta Manufacturing: workers at the company might involve in operations with high risks; Besides, inappropriate operations might also be a contributor to on-the-job accidents. Similarly, was the lower rate of on-the-job accidents at Panoply Industries a result of their shorter work shifts? Perhaps Panoply Industries have more experienced workers that are more aware of the potential dangers at work. Without ruling out these alternative scenarios, it is uncertain whether the higher rate of on-the-job accidents at Alta Manufacturing is correlated to inadequate sleep.

Granted that the numbers of on-the-job accidents in both companies are related to the length of shift hours, it is unclear whether Alta Manufacturing should shorten work shifts. Perhaps Alta Manufacturing mainly involves works that require long work shifts, and because of that, they have to make their employees maintain long work shifts while Panoply Industries does not need to stick to a long working hours schedule. Under this scenario, it is uncertain that Alta Manufacturing should shorten each of its work shifts by one hour to make them the same as Panoply Industries' work hours. Therefore, the author has to answer whether the types of jobs at both companies are similar. Otherwise, Panoply Industries would not necessarily be a perfect model for Alta Manufacturing.

Provided that these on-the-job accidents at Alta Manufacturing were caused by inadequate sleep and that Alta Manufacturing can shorten work shifts to decrease the rate of on-the-job accidents, assuming a link between the two events is still contestable. It is true that when workers work a shorter shift, they will have more free time; however, perhaps workers will spend the time watching television or hanging out with friends or doing chores around the house. Any of the above abilities, if true, the adjustment would not make workers have longer hours of sleep. Therefore, the author needs to investigate the activities that workers at Alta Manufacturing do after work ,and then come to a more targeted solution.