The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In order to evaluate whether the author’s claim regarding increasing the profit by implementing similar changes to other nine stores which has been applied to store in downtown Marston, there are some questions that needs to be answered.

So first of all, in the very first sentence “In order to reverse …”, the author has stated that to increase their profit the only way to do it is by reducing the operating costs. The author did not think of other options like reducing the salaries of some less productive employees or advertising their product in billboards or newspapers, etc. So to be sure that by reducing the operating expenses and that will increase the profit, there must be a detailed account of each operating expense of last 12 months and then evaluate accordingly.

In the second sentence, the author mentioned that raising rental prices is not a viable option as they are lionised for their special bargains. Well the owner of the Movies Galore should have a list of genres of which their customers prefer to rent. The rental price for those genres should not be increased while for the genres that are less popular or rented, there prices may be increased. So the statement in second sentence is partially correct and thus owner should have the knowledge of which movie genres are popular amongst their clientele.

The other question that needs to be answered is what is frequency of customers in each store between 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM. Because it may be possible that the frequency of customers in store in downtown Marston is low and thus closing the store at 6:00 PM is a viable choice. But what about the other stores? There are possibilities that the other 9 stores are located in different areas and the visiting of customers in some areas may be more. So there should be a detailed information regarding the number of people visiting all the 10 stores individually between 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM. And then make the suitable changes accordingly.

The last question that needs to be answered is how many people rented the movies of each year? There should be a detailed record of how many people rented movies for each years at least for the past 7-10 years. Because there is a possibility that by removing the stock of last 5 years in store of downtown Marston, they have gained a profit as the people of that area did not preferred to watch those movies. But for other 9 stores that are located in different areas, they may prefer to rent movies that are released past 5 or more years. And thus implementing the same in other 9 stores may results in the declivity of the profit.

To summarise, there are certain questions that needs to be answered before making implementations to the other 9 stores of Movies Galore. Is the reduction of operating expenses the only viable option to increase the profit?, What are the preferred movie genres amongst their clients and accordingly, on what movies they can increase their rental prices?, What is the frequency of customers that visit each store between 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM?, and lastly, Do the people in the other stores prefer to rent movies that are older than 5 or more years? So before making the changes, the owner should have the knowledge of these questions and then make a decision accordingly.