A nation should require all of its student to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Having the same syllabus that is approved nationally throughout your academic years in school like other schools is agreeable. But in my opinion, there should also be the availability of a selection of other subjects after a certain point of time in a student's life.

For example, the curriculum of social sciences or languages (my country's national language is Hindi) should be the same because the student must know the historical origin of his/her country. It does not matter if he/she remembers it wholly or not but he/she must be aware of the knowledge of it. Now regarding the languages, in my country, Hindi is the national language and hence it is the prominent aspect of the curriculum of the school academics. Because after all, the student who when enters a different state to say for a job or any other work, he/she has to communicate in the national language as he/she would not be aware of the local/native language. I know English as a language is also been embodied in the academic syllabus but not everyone knows the English language. Some people are illiterate and may not understand any other dialects aside from what they have been speaking since their childhood. The curriculum of physical sciences and mathematics should be kept the same throughout the nation as these are the basic fundamentals that each and every student should be aware of. So I strongly believe that the national curriculum in school academics should be the same until a certain point of time.

Now in my belief, the student should be allowed to whether he/she wants to pursue a science or commerce stream. Because after all, he/she must have some future goals and some disaffection regarding a particular subject. This is the case in India where a student chooses if he/she wants to continue in the science/commerce stream after the completion of 9th grade. However, the curriculum of the commerce or science stream stays the same throughout the nation. But I also believe that any student should also be allowed to have electives during the course of school academics. If any student wants to learn a different language like german, french or spanish or if he/she wants to study subjects from different fields like physics, chemistry and financial business or if he/she wants to get a knowledge regarding to human psychology, then this kind of allowance would enable to the student to explore a different and newer side of him/her.

To summarise my point of view, I do believe that the nation-wide accepted curriculum should be implemented in school academics as it prepares the student to develop fundamentally. But he/she should also be allowed to select the electives of his/her choice that allows exploring their other side. So in my opinion, there should be certain subjects that are compulsory for the students; for their own growth; and also few subjects of student's choice (an elective) to explore more about themselves.