The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the article published in a business magazine recommends that a business need to hire only those people who need less than 6 hours of sleep at night in order to flourish. He provides evidence of a study conducted on Mentian advertising firm’s executives in order to provide support for his recommendation showing that those executives who used to sleep no more than 6 hours at night had higher profit margins and faster growth. However, before evaluating the argument, the underlying assumptions on which the argument stands must be scrutinized properly.

First of all, the author assumes that the sample size for the study which is 300 male and female executives is a significant number to conduct a fruitful study. In reality, this may not be the case. It is very possible that the sample size is too much small to reach such conclusion. Perhaps, the sample size is only one-tenth of the total executives working in Mentian advertizing firm. If this is the case, then result of the study will be erroneous and the argument on which the argument on which the recommendation is based is seriously flawed.

Secondly, the author, without evidence, assumes that the executives they chose did not change their sleeping habit in the time of this study. It is very likely that the executives changed their normal sleeping time at night reduced to 6 hours at the time of the study. They normally sleep more than 6 hours at night. If this case has merit, then the study will yield erroneous result and the recommendation will be faulty. The argument will not hold water at all.

Finally, the author prematurely assumes that the conditions of other advertizing firms are very similar to the Mentian advertizing firm except the sleeping habit of the executives. However, this may not hold true. It is quite possible that Mentian advertizing firm has a good, innovative, foresighted higher authority who takes correct decision at correct time. They are very cautious and do their best to achieve a high profit and fast growth. The argument fails to consider this case and so is seriously weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions which may be proven to be invalid. If the author is able to provide more evidences and conduct a more careful study, then the argument can be evaluated properly and recommend to hire employees who sleep less than 6 hours at night otherwise it will remain seriously weakened as it is on surface.