Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting you position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is known that since ancient times laws are made to be complied and who do not comply the law are acting illegally. Usually, they are created by individuals we choose to perform that important task. I disagree with the given statement that citizens have a responsibility to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws for the reasons I will explore in the following paragraphs.

Laws are created by local and national politicians. Therefore, it is of extreme importance to choose and vote in the politicians we trust will be able to create just laws. It is necessary to examine their parties values and their personal values and beliefs to make a reasonable choice.

It is a citizen duty to observe the law. As previous stated, who do not comply it will be acting illegally and even can be charged or go to prison. For example, during the covid-19 pandemic I do not agree with some abusive restrictive laws created in my state that I considered unjust. However, I do not disobey any of that because I do not want to be an outlaw.

If we do not agree with some law that we think to be unjust the solution is to recur to who made it and try to change it. People, especially the youngsters, could arrange pacific demonstrations or protests to show their dissatisfaction with this decision-making. Furthermore, with the advent of the Internet we can use social medias to support or reprove political actions, arrange political demonstrations and constrain politician to do the changes in law we need.

However, if a dictatorial power assume my country and citizien’s religious and expression liberty are disrespected, it would be the most compelling reason that could led me to not obey a law. I would never obey a law that forced me to negate my faith in God or forced me to do things that are against my beliefs.