The following appeared as part of a promotional campaign to sell advertising on channels provided by the local cable television company. “Advertising with Cable Communications Corp. is the most effective way to increase a company’s profits. Recently, Adams Car Dealership began advertising with Cable Communications, and over a subsequent 30-day period, the dealership’s sales

rose 15% over sales the previous month. In addition, the company’s customer ratings show that people who purchase new cars from Adams are more satisfied with the quality and performance of their vehicles than are car dealership customers on average. Customer satisfaction has been found to be a key factor in positive word-of-mouth publicity.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that Advertising with Cable Communications Corp. is the most effective way to increase a company’s profits. To support this claim the advertisement gives an example of Adams car dealership and how they got profits. Stated this way, it may seem tenable at the first glance, it is full of poor reasoning which renders the readers highly suspect. Scrutiny of the evidence reveals that there are many unstated assumptions. Thus, the argument is rife with holes and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the cable company did not reveal the charges for its services. Failing to do so, we don't know if the charges are too pricy for medium to small-scale businesses to make use of it. It would be better to reveal the price so that the potential customers can have an idea whether it may be suitable for them or not. For instance, the service charges $500 per month, which wouldn'tbe much helpful for all the companies, especially for small businesses. It would be beneficial to clarify this issue in the advertisement.

Secondly, examining Adma's car dealership example no information about the sales is given. It just says that the sales have gone up by 15%.

In the absence of the number of sales in the previous month and in the present month, we do not know whether 15% means 1 car or 20 cars. And there may be other factors which might have contributed in increasing the sales: maybe the dealership has given extra discount than the previous month which resulted in customer buying more cars. It would be a lot convincing for the readers if information about the actual number of sales was given and provided that no other factors impacted the sales other than the advertisement alone.

Finally, the ad company claims that the most effective way to increase a company's profits is to use their services. This claim seems to be too extreme. No doubt that advertising on the local channel is one the best ways to promote a business. However, there are other ways such as offers, discount sales, sample distribution, pamphlets, social media...etc which are quite effective. To support that its the best way to help the business its better to provide, maybe a survey on how helpful the advertisement on local tv is compared to other ways.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. There are several unstated assumptions that raise questions. Without addressing these questions it readers will be skeptical of its claims. To bolster the argument it is better to provide more concrete examples and information about how the advertisement on local tv has improved the company's sales.