An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that to fight back the vitamin A deficiency in the Tagus the government should promote the new millet high breed. Stated this way the author reveals several instances of poor reasoning,raises several questions and leaves the reader of the argument highly skeptical. Though it may seem teniable at first glance but careful examination of evidence reveals that it doesn't support its claim. Thus the argument is rife with holes and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, what are the other sources of vitamin A avialable for the citizens of The Tagus? why did they didnt show any siginficant effects in improving the deficiency? The argument does'nt provide any information of these sources like carrots,tomatoes and other fruits and vegetables which maybe already avialable for people. If the evidence was provided that none of these sources didnt work then it would be justified the consumption of the new millet high breed. Without these information it is not convincing to replace the new millet hybdrid as source of vitamin.

Secondly, what is the cost of the new millets available for the people? There is no information about the financial conditions of the citizens.If the millets are very expensive then what about the poor who cannot afford this costly millets. It would have been cogent if the author informed that the government should provide this millets at an affordable price for all its citizens .

Finally, there in no evidence provided to support that the new millet breed has been successful in fulfilling the deficiney. Has any tests been conducted before promoting this new millets? without any studies done on this it can suspected that these millets maybe on work or should any side effects after consuming . It raises several questions about the consumption of the millets.

Thus , the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster further the author should address the questions stated above and should provide the evidence that its consumption is safe, with the help of a control goup. Unless these issues are not resolved the people to the Tagus should be skeptical of its claim.