"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The arguments passed by the author in their argument to get the use of cell phones on sidewalks banned are not cogent enough. Firstly the author makes an assumption that the two cities of Centerville and Middletown will react similarly to the ban which has not been justified. Further, the author assumes a cause-and-effect relationship between the ban on cellphone usage on sidewalks and safety.

Building upon the first argument that is, it's not necessary that Middletown and Centerville are similar. There is a possibility that the sidewalks of Middletown are wider and have lesser obstructions on there. For example, it's entirely possible that Middletown also doesn't allow the opening of shops on the sidewalk thereby giving pedestrians more space to walk so they don't crash into each other. It's also possible that the city has less number of people who use vehicles and therefore the crowded sidewalks led to more accidents which were reduced when the ban was introduced.

Even then, the argument needs to address the behavior of the city people of the two cities. It may happen that, Middletown's people, being educated, are docile and show their respect for any imposed law or ban upon them while the people of Centerville are rebellious and stubborn: and show no respect for the law. So, before concluding that the ban would be successful in Centerville it must be made clear that the city people are going to show their respect and keep themselves away from using cell phones while on the sidewalk.

Secondly, the author is assuming a cause-and-effect relation which is that use of mobile phones leads to sidewalk rage. It is very possible that the ban on mobile phones just caused fewer reported incidents as most people didn't have proof which could have been a video recording on their phones. Further, the ban on cell phones might have led to people losing precious time at work and being forced to work longer as a result leading to no time for registering complaints or even fighting with other pedestrians.

In conclusion, it can be said that the two cities might not be the same and what was successful in one city might be found failed for the other one. So, in order to become a more persuasive one, this argument needs to address some of its unwarranted assumptions and answer some questions, otherwise, the argument is not good enough.