Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Students are indeed more motivated when they are studying something in their field of interest. However, it is not convincing and reasonable to require professors to take into account the interest and suggestions of their students. Let us look at it more closely.

First of all, the professors and educators are planning their courses before the beginning of the semester. Therefore, they have not met their students at that time. And they cannot guess what will their students prefer. Even if they wanted to take into account students suggestions it will be hard to do.

Additionally, professors and educators based on their knowledge and experience already know what is good and useful for students. Although students are more encouraged to learn the things that they are interested in, the professors and educators know more precisely what is best for them. And the educators must provide their students with the best materials. For example, if the professor wants to please and motivate his/her students and asks them what they would like to learn. In the group of twenty people, there will be a variety of responses. And it is hardly possible that the professor will cover all suggested materials. And some of the students will be left out. And even if the professor manages to cover all suggested materials, what is the probability that all students will like it? In that case, some students will learn only the parts that are interesting for them and completely ignore other parts. This will result in their scores at the end of the semester. Therefore, it is a bad idea for the professor to consider all suggestions made by the students.

Admittedly, the professor can consider some suggestions and try to make lectures more interesting for all students. He can try to find the average from all suggestions, take into account already planned course and his experience in the field to make a more interesting course for students. however, there are other ways to encourage and motivate students and professors can consider other factors as well. For instance, making lectures more inclusive, and giving them additional points for their active participation.

To sum up, the claim that the professors and educators should make their courses based on suggestions of their students to motivate them is not completely true and persuasive. The professors should, first of all, prepare the course relying on their experience and knowledge. Moreover, they cannot make courses based only on the wishes and suggestions of the students. That will only make some students sulk during the lectures that they do not prefer.