The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

The author claims here that the best way to improve Hopewell’s economy is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View. Stated in this way, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions. To justify his reasoning the author claims that Ocean View built a golf course and resort hotel two years ago and their tax revenues increased by 30 percent. However, scrutiny of the evidence reveals that there is no clear correlation between the provided evidence and the author’s conclusion.

First of all, the author readily assumes that if Ocean View has increased economy because of a golf course and resort hotel they as well need to build similar structures to record an increase in tax revenues. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. For example, the author did not mention whether in Hopewell there are any resort hotels and golf courses or not. What if there are already similar hotels? And building one more of them probably will not improve the situation.

Secondly, in the passage, it is claimed that the generation of additional tax revenues will improve their economy. This is also a weak and unsupported assumption. To illustrate it further let’s consider that they have built a golf course and resort hotels and have an increase of five percent, it also an increase but is it beneficial for them? Probably, not. It would be more persuasive if the author provided a more detailed analysis of the increase in tax revenues.

Finally, the author provides the example of Ocean View and concludes that their success will be similar to Ocean Views success. However, the author fails to demonstrate any clear correlation between Ocean View and Hopewell. Stated in this way the passage gives the reader an impression that this is the authors wishful thinking rather than convincing evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s recommendation is unpersuasive in its current form. To bolster it further, the author should provide more concrete pieces of evidence. To better assess the evidence the author should bring a more detailed analysis of the situation in Hopewell and make better connections with the situation in Ocean View.