The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake

House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum sent by the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants suggests that the restaurant shall purchase margarine instead of butter across all its locations to provide for cost-savings. The author believes that this change in the ingredients does not effect the customer satisfaction based on the sparse number of complains and the report made by the servers of the Pankake House. The author’s argument however is based on various assumptions whihc have implications on such claim made by the author.

First of all, the author makes an argument that only abut 2 percent of the customers have filed a formal complaint in relation to the changes made. However, such assumption might not hold true as there might me many other customers who were not willing to complain or might missed complaining due to the circumstances. Customers might be in haste and so they may not have complained about the change in Quality. It might also be possible that the customers who were not satisfied with the change in Quality or taste may have just opted a new restuarant without complaining. In this case the manager of the Happy Pancake House will never know the lost customer.

Secondly, the author claims that many servers reported that the customers do not raise a complaint with them when they serve them with margarine when asked for butter. Here, it might be possible that not all the servers have reported the complains raise against them. It is also possible that the servers have actually mistakenly served the customers with butter as asked for. It is also possible that the servers who actually received the complains failed to report them to the higher authority.

Lastly, the author makes the assumption that the customers are unable to distinguish the taste or use the term to refer to both butter or margarine. It might be possible that the managers are undermining the customers intentions who mean butter when asked for butter. The customers may not show thier dislike for butter to the staff directly but it is possible that hey might opt to go to a different restaurant next time due to change in the Quality in the current one.

It is thus evident that the authors claim is made on basis of various assumptions. We shall not be in a position to conclude on the authors claim without further information. A survey may be conducted among the customers on the satisfaction of the changed ingredients. A track of number of customers must also be kept to have a complete picture of the lost customers due to changes in the restaurants cooking.