The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum presented to us rife with assumptions that are unfounded and not backed by any evidence. It puts the recommendation given by the business manager at greater risk of backfiring. In the following essay, I'll analyse the memorandum and point out its flaws that undermine the argument that expanding coverage of local news and weather will increase audience viewership and advertising revenues.

The first ambiguity present in the memorandum is failure of describing the concerns regarding the coverage of local news and weather. We are not sure if the viewers want more local news/weather coverage or less. We can't even determine if the viewer concern is regarding the content quality or the variety of news. There could be a myriad of reasons which can result in viewers concern and not even one of them is hinted at in the memorandum.

The second flaw in the argument is again lack of information regarding the cancellation of advertising contracts. Could it be that disagreements over finer points in the agreement between the television station and local business festered discontent which resulted in such business pulling out of advertising contracts? Or could the local economy be in a bad way and local businesses could not afford advertising over the past year? It might also be that local business realised that advertising during late-night shows are not bringing enough revenues as compared to advertising during day time. To assume that cancellation of advertising contracts is a direct consequence of less advertising coverage during late-night news program is erroneous.

The third assumption in the argument is prescribing that increasing coverage of local news and weather throughout all news programs - not just limited to late-night shows - will increasing advertising revenues and viewership. Based on the other two points I mentioned above, this assumption does not hold any ground on its own. When the reason for this problem is never presented properly, how can this recommendation be the solution.

Thus the recommendation provided by the business manager is very aleatory. No proof to back this argument is provided. Rather it makes a huge blunder of correlating two ambiguous situations to be the cause of declining viewership and advertising revenues. It would serve well to investigate further the reasons for it and come to a solid conclusion rather than trusting the judgement of its business manager.