'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It was stated that national news was devoted increased time and less time to weather and local news which had spur various complaints from viewers, also the local business that advertise during the late-night news had canceled their advertising contracts with the late-night news program. It was then assumed that to avoid losing further advertising revenues and attract more viewers, more time devoted to the weather and local news should be restored to its former level. It can be inferred from the above that the local businesses might be operating an airline businesses which has to do with weather conditions and since there is no more information as regards weather, the viewers will find solace in other programs that will give them firsthand information about weather condition and as a result , the local businesses too will lose their customers.

In addition to the above, the local businesses are looking for program with highest viewer to channel their advert, if the program restore the time devoted to the weather

and local news, they may retain the revenues from other advertising businesses and attract more viewers if and only if the local businesses that canceled their advertising contract have not seal contract with other programs and better still if they can afford more funds for placing adverts. Also the local news will also attract more viewers

On the other hand, the lost viewers might not show interest in the old programs and might have gotten better offer from dealing with other advertising businesses. The more income these businnesses generate can then determine the amount of fund to channel to adverts.