The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager has sent a memorandum to his employees regarding the loss of revenue and nature of complaints received. Their conclusion and subsequent actions raise a few questions as to whether the station will be restored to its former glory.

The first being the complaints regarding the coverage of national news as opposed to local news and weather coverage. There is only so much national news to cover on a given day. Once these are reported, there's only so much critiquing and analysis that one can conduct on them and keep the viewers engaged. This can lead to a loss of viewership. Thus we need to know how many national stories are being covered and how many times are they repeated on a given day in the television station . The number of repeats can answer a lot of question regarding retaining viewership.

Another question arises from this, which is that how many other television stations are reporting national news. If there are many channels ,then the station in question is only a drop in the ocean of choices that the viewer has to get their national news from. They may not necessarily enjoy the style of reporting of this news channel or the underlying agenda. The coverage of local news and weather would put them at a niche compared to the other channels. The lack of it is what is causing viewers to write the complaints. This shows us that the consumers care about the news channel and they are willing to watch the news channel if it shows them the content they like. The channel should welcome feedback and create a sort of loyalty with the viewer.

The major purpose of advertisements is to attract attention towards it. The more eyeballs a platform provides, the more the advertiser is willing to pay for it. The station is losing viewers due to lack of local news coverage and thus reducing the number of "eyeballs" on the advertisements that they sell. Another important piece of information needed to solve this problem is the rates charged by the station as compared to other similar channels. If they are charging higher rates compared to their competitors while providing a lower reach, it will definitely drive advertisers away. By reporting national news, the channel is reaching a national audience. The local business however, needs their advertisements to reach people who can actually visit their stores. Thus, we need to know from where are most viewers to the news channels tuning in, are they from the same area as these local businesses or distant places.

All in all, the TV channel needs to reevaluate its programming schedule and give the people what they want. This can cause more people to watch their channels which will make a conducive environment for advertisers to return