The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of the television station predicts that in order to avoid losing viewership and advertising revenues they should restore the time devoted to local and weather news. In arriving at such a conclusion, the manager makes certain assumptions which renders the argument weak. Certain aspects need to be considered to make a sound decision.

The manager mentions about the increase in customers complains regarding the coverage of local and weather news. But no information is provided about the reasons that the people are complaining. There is a greater possibility that as the television station substituted the local news with national news during the night time but it did not include the weather news during the earlier part of the day. So, the complains may be more regarding the overall weather and local news coverage throughout the day. Another aspect that cannot be left untouched is to keep a close eye on the quality of news and reporters that the channel airs. If their news quality has degraded then it can drastically affect the viewership and the people can switch to other news channels.

The second concern that the manager addresses is the cancellation of contracts with local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program. Instead of attributing it directly to the decreased viewership the manager should have researched a little more before arriving at the decision. The businesses might no longer interested to advertise on their channel because maybe they are receiving far better revenues from some other news channel. Nothing about this is mentioned in the memorandum. Also, the local businesses might have found that it is more profitable for them to air their advertises during the daytime rather than at night. And this might be the reason of their withdrawal of contract.

With this we can conclude that if the business manager includes the above-mentioned reasons in his analysis then the reasoning for the argument will be justified. Therefore, in order to make decisions about an issue every possible factor needs to be considered before arriving at a judgement.