The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A local tv station manager has given a memorandum to increase weather and local news and to reduce the time devoted to national news due to the loss of viewers and the loss of advertisements. The business manager has come to this assumption due to the complaints made against the station's coverage of weather and local news and advertisement contracts being canceled with the local news station. However, before the increase of time slots in regards to weather and local news should be implemented , there are 3 questions that should be answered.

Firstly, are the complaints about local news all the same? In other words, are the complaints based on the local news not covering enough weather and local news? Are the viewer's complaints the same-perhaps the complaints are about what is in the local news and weather. What if it's about how the news covered is inaccurate and falsely? How about if the complaints are based on how dull the news is? If any of these scenarios are true then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do local businesses cancel ads due to the lack of viewers? The business manager prematurely assumes that local businesses cancel advertising contracts due to the lack of viewers. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps local businesses are closing down due to debt. Maybe, it has to do with who will inherit the local business, and that's why the advertisement is not needed anymore. Within an ideal situation, businesses will always be able to run and generate money, but in life, situations happen, and the advertisements just aren't needed or affordable enough. If so, then the argument is loosely based on assumptions.

Lastly, will returning weather and local news attract more viewers and reduce further advertising revenue lost? This argument is based upon the idea that if we return to the past guidelines than the outcome will be the same as the past. Logically this argument makes sense, however, this is assuming that nothing has changed since last year and this year. Perhaps, nothing has changed, but the news will differ between this year and last year, maybe something exciting happened, like a bank heist. If so, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, as the argument stands now, it is considerably flawed with the reliance of premature-assumptions. If the business manager were to be able to answer these questions in the further study than it will be possible to gain viewers and avoid revenue losses by restoring time devoted to weather and local news to its former levels.