The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument here suggests that due to a decrease in time of weather and local news in the late night news program, viewers have stopped watching the show and have complained about the same along with business cancelling their contracts with the news channel, and to prevent any further loss of revenue generated from advertising and to increase the number of viewers they should increase the time of weather and local news. The argument here is resting on many unanswered assumptions two of which are discussed in the below paragraphs.

Firstly, argument does not provide enough evidence that the complaints received after the decrease in time of weather and local news has actually reduced their views. It might be that after increasing the national news time they might have attracted more viewers as local new might be limited only to a particular state, but airing national news might attract viewers from all around the country and thereby increasing the actual number of viewers. Also the arguments vaguely sates that "most" complaints received from viewers were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news, but it nowhere gives an actual ratio of number of viewers after the reduction in time of weather and local news and the number of complaints generated. It might be that the news channel would be getting millions of views and the number of complaints received would be in thousands.

Secondly, argument mentions that local business have canceled their contracts with the news channel, but this could be a fallacie i.e., because the news time decreased for local news and weather, local business canceled their advertising contracts with the news channel. In the given memorandum there is no strong evidence as such given to prove that because of the decrease in time of weather and local news, the business have canceled their contracts, it might be that business can no longer afford a separate budget for adverting and must be forced to cancel their adverting contracts in order to prevent themselves from declaring bankruptcy.

So based on the stated assumption the and effect it has on the validity of the argument it cannot be efficiently concluded that decrease in time of weather and local news has actually caused a decrease in viewership and loss of revenue. The argument need to provide some strong evidences for the above mentioned assumptions in order to draw a valid conclusion.