The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum taken from the business manager of a telivision station the manager came to a conclusion to restor the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. On premises, that their late-night news program over he past year has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news due to which they received complaints from the viewers which were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news. However, the conclusion reached the business manager is based on three unfounded assumptions that if not substantiated would dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the complaints received by the station from the viewers, are they really concerned with the station's coverage time? For instance, the complaints received by the station from the viewers might have been about the bad quality of the reports that were made by the lat-night news program, that is the information stated in the weather report might be wrong due to which the people and local businesses might have faced dificulties and filed complaints about the false or wrong reports made in the late-night news program. If the above case is true, than the business manager's conclusion of restoring the devoted to weather and local news is not persuasive.

Secondly, local businesses that used to advertise during their late-night news program have canceled their contracts with the television station, how is the business manager relating this topic to the change of timings in their late-night news program? The local businesses that used to avertise in the late-night program might have found it not necessary to make more advertisements as the business might be getting the number of customers that it needs to make a profit for the local business owner. If the above case stands true, than the manager's conclusion of restoring the devoted time for weather and local news might not hold water.

Lastly, by restoring the devoted time to weather and local news to its former level, can it bring the viewers back? On what basis is this suggestion made? For instance, the viewers over the past year could have switched their form of media consumption, that is it could have changed from watching television to get updates on news to using their smart phones for the latest news updates . If the above case is considered, than the manager's conclusion would be hampered.

In conclusion, the television station's business manager's statement to restore the devoted time to weather and local news might be true. However, as it stands now the conclusion is made based on three unreliable assumptions that need further analsis for the manager's decision to be more persuasive.