The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to attract more viewers and avoid further revenue losses is based on an argument not well-substantiated and more information will need to be provided to draw a reasonable conclusion.

One of the unclear details provided by the manager is the complaints received from the viewers. We do not know the specific issue(s) the viewers had with the station's coverage. The viewer could have a problem with the weather coverage not being reported early enough for them to avoid a thunderstorm or prepare for the rain.

Another thing that will be great to know is the reason the local businesses cancelled their contracts. The case may be that the information broadcasted by the station no longer fit the promotion of the local businesses products, a local shoes company concerned about their publicity will assuredly not advertise their products on a television station dedicated to food production in the area. On the other hand, it could just be that the local business has moved to a new location or run out of business.

Also, more evidence needs to be provided on the stations finances to know if their revenues for providing coverage for the national news at late-night exceeds that of advertising connected to their previous weather and local news coverage. If this is true, then there is little reason to worry about the advertising revenue loses as they amount to overall gain for the station.

It is the clear from the questions above that for the manager to provide an adequate solution to their troubles, they need more specified data provided and also consider the peculiarity of their case.