A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation that students should all study the same national curriculum until they enter college seems reasonable albeit not without some fault in its over-simplification.

Students need to acquire some common knowledge to be successful contributors in the society. They will have better understanding of their environment and how their desired specialisation area could potentially have an impact.

While early specialisation may seem to provide more efficient operation of a nation, some people don't know what they would like to do or become until later in life. I am sure a lot of people today have their "I want to be a neurosurgeon or aeronautic engineer" phase when they were kids but it won't be surprising looking them up now and finding out that they are detectives or underwater welder - fields not even close to their early ambitions.

The truth is, there is no guarantee in life. As such it will be better if every student is empower with the skills they need to easily pivot, should they choose to, into other areas they may be interested in later life. Take for instance a mechanical engineer transitioning into a software developer due to programming skills they have already acquired from having similar curriculum to other students berfore college.

Finally, while the recommendation sounds good, it may be costlier for the nation to implement in that such a nation will expend more capital providing a wider array of similar study resources to all students compared to another nation who only provides resources tailored to a specialisation for a set a student at a time.

In conclusion, having all students study the same national curriculum is not all bad, however, it is not a "one size fit all world", so attention should be given to aberrant cases such as when students already have their careers set out from an early age, are greatly talented in a field and very poor in others, or have strong passion or dislike for another field.