The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This prompt talks about how a televison station's business manager explains the changes occured due to a shift in the time allocation of national news and the local and weather news. Unfortunately, the manager misses out on a few evidences which may help to understand and evaluate the arguement better.

Firstly, the manager talks about complaints from the viewers of the television station. Here, he/she says that "most" of these are majorly about the weather and local news, but mentions no statistics. It may be possible that the complaints werent about the decreased time but rather on other factors like incorrect information or maybe that the news provided them was plagiarised. The manager should give more clarity on this to be able to undertsand the depth of the situation better.

Secondly, the manager assumes that the audience lost is because of the change mentioned but he/she doesn't take into account any other factors. For example, maybe this year the charges for the television cable were increased by a particular provider so many people lowered the overall usage of the television. It may also be possible that maybe the advertisements took up much of the late-night news program's part that the viewers got irritated and chose not to watch the show. Therefore, the business head should take into account the other factors before coming to a conclusion.

Lastly, acroding to this memorandum, it has been presumed that the advertising contracts were lost because of the changed timings but any other factors haven't been considered. For instance, it may be possible that the other television channels decreased their contract pricing which led these local businesses to create contracts with those stations and leave this particularly mentioned TV station. Furthermore, maybe the businesses have gained more than enough customers for now and they cannot cater to any more customers' needs, hence they chose to canel the contracts and pause advertising for now. So, I feel the memorandum should give more insights on this particular point.

In conclusion, the memorandum addresses an important problem but lacks evidence and is quite vague. If the manager is able to provide with more evidence about the aforementioned points, it will help to make the managers point stronger and impactful.