The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The business manager of the TV station suggests the increase of local weather and news program citing the complains of people for less of such program in TV, lately.

The manager comes to this argument based on two major premises, which, if true, could indicate that the argument holds water. However, the conclusion relies on three major unwarranted assumptions, that serves their purpose of weakening the argument's persuasiveness.

First, the possibility that the system of review and complain collection of the TV being variably efficient throughout the time, severely weakens the collusion. The author makes an unwarranted assumption that the collection of complains weren't more efficiently lately, leading to increased report of viewer’s discontent. For example, perhaps the viewers were discontent with the programs that run on the television since before the reporting of reviews. Perhaps, the weather and local news before declining their share of screen presence was still not enough for people. For example, there could be a group of people who targetedly have made all the complains about the program and perhaps the people who were more content did not find it necessary to provide positive feedback. If above mentioned cases are true, the director’s argument would not hold water.

Second, the author makes an unwarranted assumption that if the number of complain rises for a certain program, the total number of people discontent with the television grows. For example, may be there are more people, who are happy with the television's decision to increase time to national news than the ones who are discontent. Similarly, for incidence, there could be increasing share of national news lovers within the television viewers who are super content with the television's decision. The case renders the director’s conclusion flawed.

Similarly, the possibility of existence of reasons, behind the losing of the advertisements, beyond the contents of the television, cannot be neglected. The author unreliably assumes that the decrease in advertising deals has to do with what the television has been broadcasting. For example, there could be a wide economic phenomenon in the area, forcing the companies to cut-off their advertising expenditure.

Similarly, it could be possible that the advertising companies are discontent with the pricing scenario of the advertising market, because of new players (television companies) coming in. In that case, perhaps it is the company's pricing policy that needs a re-look. Many such scenario, based on the above-mentioned possibility, renders the managers conclusion weak.

Finally, the logic behind the development of the conclusion is problematic. As of now, the argument does not look strong enough because of its reliance on nebulous foundations. To be able to fully evaluate the credibility of the author, more evidence flouting the above-mentioned ill-assumptions should be offered (in a systematic and scientific way)