The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The petition to the city state council of centreville to ban the use of cell phones along the walkways is flawed in the following ways.

The argument assumes that the use of cell phone on the walkways is the only reason responsible for assaults and pedestrian traffic. The argument fails to recorgnize what other factors might cause the pedestrian trafic. For instance, people walking along the walkways tend to have their attension drawn to spots where they display or perform shows. This can cause trafic along the walkway too. People can stand indiscriminately along the walkway which can narrow the passage leading to bumping into each other and consequently assaults and even robbery due to the crowd. Until person writing the petition proves using cell phone to be the only reason for pedestrain trafic, only then can this argument be logically sound. Otherwise it is unwarranted.

Furthermore, the argument assumes that the law that worked in middletown will also be applicable in centreville. Considering that these two towns are separate and different regions has different people and standard of living differs. The people of meddletown may have better life and less struggle. Nothing much to worry about and someone from meddletown using the walk way might be for an evening stroll. In contrast, those who use the walkway in centreville might be in hast to meet up with work or working too hard that they are "emotionally charged" almost all the time due to how frustrating life is treating them and hence, bumping into each other easily results to assaults and trafic on pedestran lane. Until the author categorically describes the living situations in these two separate towns as being identical, otherwise, the argument is flawed in this aspect.

In conclusion, the assumptions that the use of cellphone along the walkway and the recommendation of adopting the law used in meddletown in centreville is not logically sound until proven otherwise, the argument is flawed.