Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement that states, emulating the Paleo diets followed by human ancestors can cure many chronic illness is flawed. Because, it has assumptions regarding human anatomy evolution, location, climatic conditions and density of population that were considered to arrive at this evidence and partial knowledge of physical activities and other dietary supplements consumed by human ancestors. Therefore, all these factors need to considered before we can make the claim about emulating the way they ate to reduce chronic illnesses.

The humany body has continuously evolved from the time of our ancient ancestors to the current day. Hence, the diets that they followed during their time might not be relevant in the current day and age. The dietary requirements vary based on current day to day activities and way of life that we follow today. Presently, we have a lot of mechanical automation which was not the case in ancient times. Hence, gathering information of how much the human body has evolved along with day-to-day activities of ancient age can be very useful to strengthen the argument.

The climatic conditions of our ancestors and present day vary vastly. Global warming has caused increasing temperature year by year. The environmental conditions can also affect the diet that we are consuming. Therefore, the diet that gave increased metabolism may not have the same effect in the current environmental conditions. Hence, knowing the environmental conditions of living can be very useful to support the argument.

Did the ancestors have increased metabolism only due to the consumption of Paleo diets? The other aspects of diets on when they consumed the diet during the day, which could have caused this enhancement are not clearly stated. The complete view of their diet can provide a more accurate relation of the assumed cause and the effect of the cause. Thus, complete diet information on what and when they consumed is required to strengthen the argument.

Because, the argument makes assumptions around temporal similarity, location, environmental conditions, partial dietary consumption, it is flawed. The information of complete diet consumption, physical acitivites in day to day life and indicator of environmental conditions can be very useful to strengthen the argument.