Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are many characteristics required for a leader to be effective. The prompt provides a comparison of importance between two charactertistics, stating that sound moral judgement is an important characteristic of an effective leader, but it is not as important as a leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers. I mostly disagree with this assertion for the following reasons.

Firstly, there is a possibility that a scenario may arise where the leader has to make a choice between saving the face of the government or the ruling party by making a decision which may have a bad impact on the reputation of his peers or go down the corrupt path and maintain the respect of his peers. For instance, if some leaders of the ruling political party have been caught in a scandal, the leader has two options, either make a moral judgement and not favor the culprits, or favor them and maintain their reputation. In such a case, effectiveness will only be proven if the leader chooses the right path and makes the right decision by not favoring the culprits. Thus, a sound moral judgement plays a very important role in such scenarios.

Progress of a team depends majorly on the decisions taken by a leader. If the leader chooses to maintain the respect of his or her peers, and take the path which is immoral, it may affect the team as a whole. For an instance, in a corporate office, two managers are handling a development team, one of the managers notices that the other manager is taking advantage of the hybrid mode and not working hard enough, and is exploiting the team members to do the work. The effective choice in this case would definitely be to report to higher authorities and get the manager replaced, which will speeden up the team's progress, since now, the employees working in the team are more productive and know that their manager is a great leader and has made a right decision, thus delivering great results.

It is known for a fact that favoring peers who are doing something immoral has even put the leadership as a whole at stake. There have been many instances in history where the culprit has been held guilty and the people supporting him have also been punished. To avoid such situations, it is very important to make a moral judgement and no relationships should affect this judgement or opinion. An effective leader should be very neutral in taking a decision.

On the contrary, there might be a situation where accusations have been made on a person but nothing has been proven yet, in such a case, the effective leader should be neutral and should definitely support his peers and make no judgement unless anything is proven.

In conclusion, in my opinion, if talked in terms of importance, a moral judgement stands above maintaining the respect of peers, it is situational as well, but this is true majority of the times.