The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt suggests that sidewalk rage incidents are caused directly as a result of cell phone use on sidewalks. The author makes a number of incomplete assumptions - which without addressing, renders the conclusion baseless. Below I discuss three pieces of evidence whose presence will shed light on the reality of the situation presented.

First and foremost, what is the proof of sidewalk rage originating due to the use of cell phones? Sure, cell phone usage leads to incidents such as slowing down pedestrians and risking children. But, is that what causes the rages and in-turn the assaults? It could be possible that the city of Centerville has a group of detestable people who seem to cause assaults and rage. It may also be likely that collision among pedestrians is caused due to rushers, instead of slow walkers. Maybe Centerville has a lot of job-holding people who regularly use the side-walk to go to work and every so often get late and try to run to work. This may not only cause hazards but may foment conflicts if incidents of collision and accidents occur on a daily basis. Should there be a way to pinpoint the incidents and tally their causes, the real culprit of sidewalk rage could be found and eliminated.

Secondly, is there evidence suggesting Centerville and Middletown are similar? The similarity in terms of area, population, number of sidewalks, number of people using the sidewalk on a daily basis. While Middletown heard no complaints after banning the use of cell-phones, did other constraints remain constant? It may be possible that Middletown built an overbridge on the roads with the busiest sidewalks, or expanded the sidewalks, which cause the density of people using the sidewalks to reduce, and so the collision, rage, and crimes to reduce. It may also be possible that the population of the town decreased, perhaps because of so many incidents occurring.

Moreover, some evidence is required as to what kind of crimes reduced in Middletown due to cell phone ban. Imagine a scenario where a sidewalk full of people walk staring at their cell phones yet keeping a side-eye on where they are stepping. Although not ideal, it may be possible that it may be targeted by pick-pocketers. That may be the kind of crimes that were reduced due to banning cell phone usage, which should actually be treated in ways that help get hold of the outlaws. A more detailed analysis of the crimes that used to occur and do not anymore, in Middletown, due to sidewalk rages, could provide more basis to the conclusion of the argument provided.

The presented reasoning for banning the use of cell phones for all in the sidewalks is a little extreme and faulty for lack of evidence in various aspects. The causes and effects of cell phone usage in Centerville, and cell phone banning in Middletown need to be analyzed in-depth, in consideration with extrinsic factors, to be able to draw a finer and more reasonable conclusion to the argument.