The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that there is lack of publlic awareness about the available good qualities of movie, thus by allocating a greater share of its budget to advertising, Super Screen Movie Production Comapny will be able to reach the public. The argument in its current form is not convincing - the support provided for the conclusion is weak ant the argument makes too many unwarranted assumptions.

Firslty, the argument does not evaluate the real reason for the decrease in the number of people attending Super Screen- produced movies. Without any report or authentic data it comes to the bold conclusion that it is due to the lack of awareness among people about the good quality movies. It fails to consider the possibility that the decrease in number could be because of various reasons like - people did not find their favourite star performing, economy was down last year and thus people could not afford to spend money on entertainment, of the movie CDs were disributed illegally and thus people preffered the cheaper way. Thus it is indispensable to know why the number of audience decreased. The argument is rife with holes and thus not substantiate enough to lead to a successful conclusion.

Secondly, the author naively assumes that the increase in the percentage of positive reviews(that too about specific Super Screen Movies) imples that the quality of movies is amazing. Although there is an increase in he percentage of positive reviews compared to the last year but there could be a decrease in the actual number of positive reviews compared to the last year, hence percentages paint ambiguous and vague picture of the reality. Moreover, the percentage could have increased due to other reasons like the negative reviewers did not attent the movies last year or people gave positive reviews because their favourite star performend and not because of the high quality of the movie. Thus the reason for the increased percentages of posiive reviews must be evaluated. The argument engages in too many clear logical fallacies and fails to successfully defend its conclusion.

Thirdly, the argument comes to an overly broad conclusion that increasing the share of budget for advertisement will increase the reachability of the advertisement. It is possible that the reachability is at maximum level but people still lack awareness about the movies due to the poor content of advertising, people are not able to comprehend the message that Super Screen movies wishes to convey. Otherwise, the reason foe people not showing up coul be that the movies are not appealing(though advetisement is proper) and people do not get what they want to see. Thus the organisation must look into the needs of people and scrutinize the content that is displayed on the advertisement before increasing the share of budget for it.

In sum, the argument is based on unconfirmed premises and unsubstatiated assumptions in order to evaluate the merits of the argument, we need more data and information about the points mentioned above.