The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the roble lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The advertising director of this production company avers that increasing the budget allocation for advertisement will solve the problem of attendance in the Super Screen-produced movies is faulty as it lacks substantial evidence to bolster his argument. The argument is unconvincing and would need to provide answers to these questions in order to ascertain its credibility.

Firstly, Does the author put in consideration the former budget allocated for advertising, how it has been spent? and what method of advertisement has the department been employing in previous years? Perhaps, there has been mismanagement in the usual budget for advertisement, and an increment might not have a promising effect as desire. Perhaps, the advertising company being patronized by this company is losing its relevance and attention before the populous. It is possible that the issue with the attendance is not related with the financial allocation but with advertisement quality. If either of these scenarios were true, the author's conclusion cannot be fruitful and would need to be re-evaluted. The author might have probably looked into the advertisement department of the company and effect some strategic changes before making such a hasty conclusion.

Secondly, The assumption of the author to rely on the singular report of the marketing department is questionable. Does the director also critically consider the report being submitted? The author seems not to include the reasons why there was decrease in the attendance of the peope that attended the movies. The author assumption that the decline is based as result of poor advertisement is unfounded. It is possible that the people who previously attended these movies being produced have moved to a different location far from the company. Perhaps, after considering the cost implication to attend the company event, they choose to be thrifty. If any of these scenarios were true, then the director might need to re-evaluate his decision about the budget.

Lastly, Does the director also consider the financial status of the company before making a conclusion that is baseless on unfounded evidences? Perhaps, the financial state of the company at this time of decision is not buoyant enough. Even if the decline in the attendance has truly been a result of poor quality to public awareness, the decision to allocate a greater share of the Super Screen budget is not solely dependent on him. The company might have to put in check different factor and be sure that such a step would yield an expected result. Likewise, they might want to also seek consent and support from their support if they have financial crises.

Although, the conclusion of the author might hold water if had not overlooked the critical questions asked above. To strengthen this argument, the advertising director might have to provide substantiate this argument with the suggestions listed below, by conducting an internal survey within the advertising department on how best to improve their output, investigate and ascertain the reason for decline in the attendance and also enquire about the financial pulse of the company. However, as it stands, the decision of the author to increase the budget allocation for advertisement is questionable and unpersuasive.