The following is taken from a memo from the
advertising director of the Super Screen Movie
Production Company.
According to a recent report from our marketing
department, during the past year, fewer people attended
Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.
And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie
reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually
increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of
these reviews are not reaching enough of our
prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the
quality of our movies but with the public's lack of
awareness that movies of good quality are available.
Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share
of its budget next year to reaching the public through
advertising."
Write a response in which you discuss what questions
would need to be answered in order to decide whether
the recommendation and the argument on which it is
based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the
answers to these questions would help to evaluate the
recommendation.
n the memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production
Company, the director concluded that Super Screen movies should allocate a higher
sum for the public reach because of the last year's data of less viewership yet more
positive reviews. However, in order to strengthen the conclusion, the author has to
provide the evidence of the following three assumptions.
To start with, the author is assuming that the last year data of the modicum umber
of viewers is indicative of the future years viewership as well. It can be the case
that last year a virus outbreak occured and it restricted the citizens to go out for
other actiVities apart from the essentials shopping. Additionally, last year the
government increased the tax on the films for an year by a certain amount in order
to balance the debt of the nation. Perhaps, last year the use of online television
platform was promoted and a hefty discount was given to the citizens to view the
exclusive content. Thus, if the above circumstances are true, the author's contention
is weakened.
Secondly, the author is assuming that the Super Screen Production Company
well known as it produces good movies thus it should gain maximum viewers.
However, it can be the case that Super Screen Production Company just entered
into the film industry 2 years ago and they production rate is slow which did not
gain maximum attention of the viewers. Perhaps, as the production company is
new, most of the viewers consisted of the reviewers than the normal audience
which increased their movie's ratings. Thus, if these scenarios are true then the
author's contention does not hold water
Finally, the author is assuming that the positive reviews made by the reviewers
indicate how good the quality of movie is. However, most of the positive reviews
came from the reviews told by the small group of people who have seen the movie
and the reviewers asked them about the movie. Perhaps, the reviews made by the
reviewers are based on the story line and the climax of the movie, but the audience
favoured the action and acting of the actors/actresses and thus it does not make it to
the public reach with the disappointment of the viewer. Thus, if the above
statements prove to be true, the author's take on increasing the budget does not hold
water.
To conclude, if the author does not provide enough evidence for the
aforementioned scenarious, the conclusion of the increase in budget of marketing
and public reach is not viable and auther should further analyse the issue be
considering the above situations.