The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per a memo drafted by the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, it would serve the company well to allocate an increased share of its budget for next year to marketing their movies to the general populace. This is based on the results from a recent report conducted by their marketing department which states that despite a rise in positive reviews by movie reviewers of certain Super screen movies, there has been a decline in the number of people attending movies produced by Super Screen. In arriving at the aforementioned recommendation contained in the memo, the advertising director assumes that the decrease in the number of persons attending Super Screen produced movies is due to an absence of public awareness about the availability of superior quality movies produced by Super Screen fuelled by lack of promotion and advertising of good reviews. In order to determine if the recommendation is viable, three pertinent questions must be answered first.

Firstly, does the general public value the opinion of movie reviewers? Do they base their movie watching decisions on the reviews provided by film critics? In a scenario where the general public does not care for the opinion of the movie reviewers, promoting and publicising positive reviews will have little bearing on changing peoples’ minds. For instance, superhero movies are usually not well reviewed by critics, however they go on to become superhits. They receive widespread viewership and ticket sales despite negative and often acerbic reviews. Thus this strategy of assigning a higher budget to publicise positive reviews given by movie reviewers may be counterproductive. It may further drive people away from movies produced by Super Screen. In such a scenario, a survey analysing the correlation between positive movie reviews and probability of watching a particular movie may provide better insight.

Alternatively, does allocating a larger part of the budget to advertising have an impact on the quality of movies produced by super Screen? If this means reducing the amount allotted for development of the script, direction and production of the movie itself, there exists a probability that the quality of the movie itself takes a nosedive. Consequently they may not be reviewed as well by Film critics, thus rendering useless the entire need for better promotion of positive reviews of movies produced by Super Screen.

Lastly and most importantly, does the general public prefer watching movies on streaming services and platforms instead of visiting cinema halls? Take for example the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic on movies and movie goers. A record number of people began to stream content including movies online, in the comfort and safety of their own homes, thus eliminating the need to visit crowded and potentially germ induced cinema halls. This trend has continued after the pandemic as well. In such a situation a marketing blitz will have a net zero effect in bringing more people to theatres to attend movies, including those produced by Super Screen.

Thus, the recommendation made by the advertising director of the Super Screen needs to be substantiated with more concrete proof. In its current state it suffers from the severe infirmities. If the questions raised above are discussed and answered, then it will be possible to determine if increased publicity of good reviews will positively impact the number of persons attending movies produced by Super Screen.