The following was posted on an Internet real estate discussion site.

“Of the two leading real estate firms in our town – Adams Realty and Fitch Realty – Adams is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents. In contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams’ revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch, and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch’s $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: Ten years ago, I listed my home with Fitch and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams.”

The prompt highlights the superiority of a particular real estate on the basis of three main reasons. The foremost reason being the presence of more real estate agents and the second reason is the high revenue of that particular real estate in comparison to other. The last reason is the one which the author himself experienced by selling his home and considers Adams as superior to Fitch realty. However, the argument is unconvincing because of the various reasons as it does not explain any particular reason for the superiority. The succeeding paragraphs evaluate each of the reason one by one for the superiority of the Adams realty and also suggest some possible reasons to strengthen the argument.

First of all, the first reason for the superiority of Adams among Fitch is the presence of more number of real estate agents which are approximately 15 more. Moreover, the agents in Adams realty work full time, while in Fitch Realty many of agents work for part time. But the presence of agents and their timings of work cannot be the reason for the superiority of a particular estate as it matter is the efforts and the intelligence which they put to sale the houses. Furthermore, the superiority in terms of professional competence cannot be judged on the basis of number of employees present as it all depends on the efforts put by them and their prolific skills in their work. Hence, the argument can be strengthened by expressing more details regarding the attitude and professional skills of real estate agents.

Secondly, the argument expresses the high average of Adams reality as the reason for the success, as the average revenue of Adams realty was $168000 while that of Fitch realty was lesser than this which was approximately $144000. But the higher value of average revenue cannot be the only reason for the higher sales as the other conditions also matter and the steps taken to increase the revenue will not increase the profit of a particular place because sometimes it may lead to decrease in the profit percentage. Thus, the argument can be made stronger if complete statistics is given which may bolster up the given conclusion.

Finally, the author reached the conclusion by giving his own instance to reach the conclusion by stating that it took about four months to sell the home with Fitch ten years ago, on the contrary, only month was taken to sell the home one year ago with Adams. This evidence is completely inappropriate as it make vague comparison. To elucidate, the conditions which was prevalent one year ago may not be auspicious ten years ago. Apart from this, the position and the environment of a particular home also favour to surge its sale. So, the argument can be made more comprehensive by stating the conditions ten years ago and now and most prominently the location of different houses sold.

Thus, the argument is not logically convincing. The evidence in support of the conclusion has failed to provide information on the above mentioned argument.