The following was written as a part of application for a small business loan by a group of developers on the city of Monroe.

“A jazz music club in the Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe; over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s jazz festival last summer, several well-known musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is ‘Jazz Nightly’ which airs every weeknight. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. It is clear that the C Note cannot help but make money.”

The loan applicant claims that a jazz club in Monroe would be very profitable venture. Applicant also cites evidence that well-known musicians live in Monroe and jazz is very popular among people of Monroe. However before this can be properly evaluated, careful examination of this evidence must provide clear answers

Firstly, if the jazz club is in demand in Monroe then, why the nearest club is 65 miles away for all these years? If ever it was in demand Monroe would already have one or more jazz clubs. It is possible that not all people of Monroe loves jazz music — perhaps people living near the nearest jazz club would be more fond of the jazz music compare to people lives in Monroe. Further, there is also possibility that people who lives in Monroe also loves other kind of music more than jazz and loves to listen jazz occasionally once in a week for the entertainment purpose rather than being a die hard fan of it.

Furthermore, the 100,00 people who attended the Monroe jazz festival are not necessarily resident of Monroe. The loan applicant Prematurely assume that all the resident of Monroe attended jazz festival. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps, it is possible that many of them would be out-of-town visitors who came to Monroe for the jazz festival and majority of the resident of Monroe is less. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold the water.

Finally, the study which indicates jazz fans spend close to $1,00 per year is clearly dependable upon lifestyle of the people and the location of the jazz club, It is possible that people who lives in metropolitan cities spends more thane people who lives in rural areas— perhaps the people who spends money would like ti]o do it for entertainment purpose or only .for the food they enjoyed in the jazz club. If this is the case, the loan application would not serve the goal.

In conclusion, the applicants evidence lends to little credible support for the business loan application. To persuade me that the jazz club can make money, the applicant would need to provide clear evidence, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed application a grant loan for a small business.