Fossil evidence indicates that the blompus-an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal-inhabited the continent of Pentagoria for tens of thousands of years until its sudden decline and ultimate extinction about twelve thousand years ago. Scientists have determined that the extinction coincided with a period of significant climate change and with the arrival of the first humans. Some scholars theorize that the climate change so altered the distribution of plants and animals in the environment that the food chain upon which the blompus depended was irretrievably disrupted. Others contend that predation by humans is the more plausible explanation for the rapid population decline.

Write a response in which you discuss specific evidence that could be used to decide between the proposed explanations above.

The above argument indicates that the blompus -an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal extinct due to weather changes and predation by humans. It considers only 2 factors to come to a conclusion, which might not be enough. Humans came into existence more than 100 centuries ago. There is no way one can determine the conditions back then. Earth could have been a complete forest, no infrastructure, few theories state that continents were not formed and all the land mass was together in a single piece. Water quality could have been very different compared to now. The argument is completely based on fossil evidence. Over the years it is quite possible that the fossil has undergone decomposition, destroying prime evidence. Even carbon buried in earth after decades of exposure to heat and pressure converts into diamond.

There are multiple factors which are not considered in this argument. Some of them are as follows. Atmospheric changes could have been one factor, but why did the atmosphere change all of sudden? This is not answered. It is quite possible that the water quality changed, the composition of minerals in water changed, which led to poisoning of the blompus. As earth evolves, mother nature's resources are also altered. Eg: after industrialization, air quality has degraded significantly, water is toxic (containing chlorine and other heavy metals), global warming has increased the overall temperature. This is quite possible back then. Weather does not change all of sudden, there is always a reason for it. It is possible that volcanic eruptions had spread Sulphur and other metals in the air which led to weather change and water adulteration.

As the argument states that the blompus died around the time when humans came into existence, predation cannot be the only cause linking humans to blompus. Humans tend to evolve, be it back then or now. Their primary goal is survival. so when humans came into existence, they started eating the herbs and grass around them. This might have caused a competition for food between humans and the blompus. Earth's resources are limited, so supply is fixed, but if demand increases it leads to imbalance. Humans want shelter to protect themselves, so they might have cut down trees, used the nature to build their homes. And these resources were the food for the blompus.

All in all, there are many factors to take into account. The author has not probed the problem from every angle, and other factors are still uninvestigated. It is true that the only evidence are the fossils to compare to, but concluding a theory based on only few fossils is not adequate.